Forgotten Password?
Follow RIN on:  Follow us on Facebook Twitter Feed RSS Feed

What's new across the RIN

RIN - RMets Weather & Sailing Conference 2014

Meteorology and Sailing conditions for the yachtsman. Registration is now available online.

The North West Passage in a Small GRP Boat

A Joint meeting of the RIN Small Craft Group and the Thames Royal yacht Club.

GPS technology for the master criminal

How criminals are using GPS to their advantage

C Class Submarine Operations in 1916

A joint event with Royal Lymington YC, followed by supper

Solent Branch News - April 2014 - "The Real RIN"

In a recent President's Blog it was pleasing to note his reminder that most members encounter RIN through its branches and not ...more

Council Members

The Institute's affairs are overseen by an elected President, Officers and Council. Council is made up of Trustees and ex officio representatives from the services, Department for Transport and Civil Aviation Authority.

The Council is based at the RIN headquarters, within the Royal Geographical Society building in London. The Council has three main Committees - Technical, Membership & Fellowship, and Finance. The Technical Committee includes members from most or all of the Institute's Special Interest Groups. 

Members of Council 2014-15


R A McKinlay

Vice Presidents

Dr N D Hughes OBE & Prof T Moore


D Cockburn

Chairman of the Technical Committee

Dr S Basker

Chairman of the Membership & Fellowship Committee

Wg Cdr J W Lindsay RAF

Other members of the Council

R Angel
Sqn Ldr J Cairns RAF (Rtd)
Lt Cdr F A Egeland-Jensen RN
Lt Cdr S E Gaskin RN
D J S Goddard
P K Hope-Lang
D Rydiard
Capt J B Taylor OBE RN
Ms M M G M von Wendland
Capt R J Wild

Ex Officio Members

P J Brook OBE - CAA
Wg Cdr S Gilbert RAF - RAF


Capt P Chapman-Andrews LVO MBE RN