Trinity House to open its doors
A unique open day invites the general public to discover the elegant rooms of the impressive building.
In 1514, Henry VIII granted a Royal Charter to a fraternity of mariners called the Guild of the Holy Trinity 'so that they might regulate the pilotage of ships in the King’s streams' - and May marks the 500th anniversary of this milestone event in British maritime history.
Included in the celebrations at Trinity House - home to the Corporation and the working office of the General Lighthouse Authority - is an invitation to the general public to discover the treasures and artefacts on display from 1000 to 1500 on Saturday 17 May.
There is no need to contact the House - interested visitors can just arrive, wander about the House at their leisure and receive information from guides.
Those unable to make this date can schedule a visit from 1000 to 1500 on Saturday 20 September as part of the city-wide Open House London promotion created by Open-City - staged on 20-21 September to provide rare public access to 800 exceptional buildings in London.
Trinity House is located on Tower Hill overlooking the historic Tower of London and the picturesque Trinity Square Gardens, containing a memorial to merchant navy heroes of two World Wars and the Falklands War.
For details, see the links below . .